About Me


My name is Supratim Sanyal, "Tuklu" to my parents and family. I live with my wife Ipshita, daughter Tula and son Tulio, in Germantown, Maryland in the United States (39.1292N, 77.2953W), in the greater Washington DC metropolitan area. We are fortunate enough to live in the very small area of the world where the Washington Post is home-delivered and the hallowed halls of the Smithsonian musemums are subway-accessible.

I was born at 5:15 AM on August 14, 1970, at Kolkata (Calcutta), India.

We lived in the city of Burdwan, West Bengal during my first six years. Between seven and eleven, we lived in New Delhi. Since the age of eleven, I had been a resident of Kolkata, till about 1995, when my profession led me to other countries.

My schooling at Calcutta was at Kendriya Vidyalaya, Salt Lake (also known as Central School). After school, I attended Jadavpur University for a total of six years, earning a Bachelor's degree in Science majoring in Mathematics, followed by, to my amazement, a Master's degree in Computer Applications.

The first job was with Digital Equipment Corporation (DEC), mainly in the field of Industrial Automation. After a brief stint in banking software with Citibank Tokyo (a career mistake!), I spent the next seven years with Hughes Network Systems at Germantown, Maryland, working in the field of Network Management for satellite communication and data networks. I presently work with Xerox Corporation at the Technology Development Center in Germantown, Maryland in the field of electronic vehicle toll collection systems.

I am married to Ipshita since 1998, and we have a daughter named Adrita Tula born in October 2001 and a son named Arnab Tulio born in June 2006.

Here is another more technical post about me.

JavaScript DHTML Menu Powered by Milonic (License)